Chapter Five – Thoughts on Beauty

Over a course of a week, Patrick and Rose began to develop a friendship. One day, Rose saw Patrick as she was heading out of the school building after her last class.

“Hey Patrick!”

She shouted and waved. Patrick waved, and hurried over.

“Hi Rose. How’s it going?”

“Good,” Rose answered. “I was just going to walk home.”

“Would you mind if I walked with you?”

Patrick asked shyly. Rose smiled. “Sure.”

As they were walking to her house, Rose brought up the topic of Beauty in their discussion.

“I think that one of my favorite kinds of Beauty is when I finally understand something.”

Rose said to Patrick as she was tiptoeing along the curb with her arms out to her sides as though she were tight-roping. She jumped down.

“Well, you’re understanding a little more and more of Truth.”

“Truth?”

Rose asked quizzically.

“Yeah, Truth. It’s the most valuable thing.”

Rose listened quietly.

“Understanding is discovering and comprehending Truth. So technically, you find beauty in truth. In understanding.”

“Hmm. I see your point there.”

Rose murmured. She walked along, letting her scarf fly behind her instead of wrapping it around her neck like she was supposed to. Her neck was getting colder, but she didn’t care. It was one of those bleak, leaves-blowing-along-the-sidewalk kind of cold autumn days. Rose squinted her eyes. Patrick had his hands in his pockets. They walked along.

“Why do you like Truth so much?

Rose asked. Patrick looked at her.

“Why do you like Beauty so much?”

“Well, I don’t think that beauty is the purpose of life. Because if it was, that would be too simple. Life is not simple, even though it is very fleeting.”

“Hmmm. I see your point there.”

Patrick replied.

“But you still didn’t answer my question.”

He interjected.

“I like beauty because it gives me pleasure, and it makes me think really deeply, and I like thinking deep. It also helps me to appreciate the world.”

Rose said.

“But I think there’s more to my answer than just that. It’s just that I can’t think of a longer one. Or a more clever-sounding one.”

“It doesn’t have to sound clever.”

Patrick advised thoughtfully.

“But it would sound really cool if it did.”

Leave a Reply

