“I”

Did you feel that? Did you see that? Read it again:

“I”

“I” what? “I” am? “I” want?

Isn’t it funny how I can make a few scratches on paper; press one key on a keyboard, and to you it could mean the world.

And that’s the thing. It’s different for every person.

To some it brings back memories, memories of writing letters to friends and forgetting to capitalize the “i” when it stands alone.

To some it brings dread. Dread of the essay outline with parts I, II, and III.

To some it brings back the face of their other half, their voice pealing triumphantly:

“I do.”

And to some, the meaning lies far beyond reach, deep down inside.

Leave a Reply

