Homemade Tea Bags

Today, I was really bored because I had finished all my school early. I decided to surf the web for ideas. As I was searching the internet, an idea popped into my head to make homemade tea bags. It might sound kind of random, but I love to drink tea. So, first I dissected some store-bought tea bags and looked at all the spices inside and the bag material. I decided that the closest thing I had to the silky-muslin material of the tea bag was coffee filters.

DSCN2116DSCN2117

 

So, I took a coffee filter and cut it so it was a rectangle with a hinge.

DSCN2118DSCN2119

Then I sewed the two long edges of the rectangle I cut out, so it was like a finger puppet.

DSCN2121DSCN2122

After that, I put 1 tsp. of black tea in and a half teaspoon of a spice in. (In this case, I used cinnamon.)

DSCN2124DSCN2125

When the bag was filled, I sewed the remaining edge of the rectangle.

DSCN2121DSCN2126

Then, I took the top half of the bag, folded it down and stapled it there with a 10cm (about 4 inches) string .

DSCN2128

Voila! I had my tea bag! It looked homemade alright. Then I made a couple more.

DSCN2129

It’s really fun to make tea bags, and I can’t wait to try them out. You could make tea bags with all kinds of spices like ginger, cloves, sage, saffron, maybe even dried berries. I got this idea from this site:

http://ashleeholmes.buzznet.com/photos/diyteabags/?id=68075761#id=68075765

If you LOVE tea like me, then you can comment down below. But even if you don’t, comment anyway 🙂

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

